The Chop!

A few months ago I wrote a post entitled, For the Need of Change and I actually said “I will never go short with my hair”. Well I can now say that was a lie and that one really should NEVER say never! After what feels like my entire life of having long hair, I impulsively decided to cut it off. I needed a trim because the ends were terribly dead and every time I go in for a trim, I always ask my hair dresser to leave as much as she can and only take off what is really REALLY necessary. I honestly can’t tell you what happened in my mind this time but I went in there and she asked what we were doing this time (obviously expecting the usual), instead I said we’re taking it off. Here’s my inspiration:

Image

Image

I’ve always loved long hair because you can hide behind it but like I said, it was dead and flat and I never change up my hair. When I told my boyfriend I was thinking about cutting it off, he said “Do it! But it’s going to be a big change..it’s a big part of your look.” That definitely freaked me out but that proved to me all the more reason for a change! Aside from loving long hair, there are two other reasons why I’ve stayed away from shorter hair. 1) I’m extremely lazy when it comes to styling my hair. I don’t do it unless I’m going to an event, otherwise its wash, air dry and go. My hair is naturally wavy and I thought that with shorter hair and therefore less weight, my hair would be pouffy and form a triangle around my head. And 2) I thought shorter hair would make me look younger than I already do and if you know me, you would know that looking younger is the last time I need. But even with these two doubts, I went for it and I’m glad I did! It dries fine naturally, I can still be a lazy girl if I want to and the cut actually makes me look older or at least it doesn’t make me look younger. You tell me!

The outcome:

Image

Before

Image

After

After just a couple days with my new do, I decided I wanted to go shorter! Here is my final look.

Image

Don’t mind my lack of smile..

For now…All I can say is, going shorter is addicting!

One thought on “The Chop!

Leave a comment